Show & Tell Tuesday: How to Win Your Heart

Hey hey! 

It’s another “Show & Tell Tuesday” link-up today, and today’s prompt is: “What Wins Your Heart?”

Okay, so this question sort of stumped me when I first read it last week because I think this has changed over the years. When my husband and I were engaged, we each took the quiz that reveals your “love language.” If you haven’t taken this quiz before, do it! It reveals SO MUCH about you and your spouse! The five love languages are physical touch, quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service, and gifts. So, seven years ago, my love language was physical touch first and words of affirmation second. 
And then we had a son.

And then a daughter.

And there was SO. MUCH. TOUCHING.
I held babies, I held hands, I gave piggy back rides, I wiped snotty noses, and I just got completely OVER the touching. When I finally give the last bedtime kiss to my kiddos, the LAST thing I want is to be touched anymore. I just feel liked I’m touched by small hands ALL. DAY. LONG. so yeah, that love language has kind of died for me.

Sorry, hubby. 😉 
We still cuddle and stuff, but yeah, I usually just want my space. Bless him.

I WILL say, though, that I am ABSOLUTELY still one who responds to words of affirmation. One of my all-time favorite things is when my husband leaves me little notes. If he leaves town early in the morning or we switch cars for the day or something like that, he’ll often leave me a little sticky note saying “I love you” or something silly, and it just seriously makes my day. A simple “I like that shirt” or “your hair looks good today” or “thanks for all you do for our family” goes a LOOOOOOONG way with me. 
I have noticed being married for almost six years now that my husband tends to express his love through acts of service, so I am trying (TRYING!) to get better at appreciating that. I haven’t washed my car or filled up my own gas tank once in the last four years. (Side story – I actually tried to fill it up myself coming back from a bachelorette party recently, and it was SO weird. Like, I almost didn’t know how to do it.) My hubby does the dishes most nights, helps me with the laundry, takes care of the trash cans, and brings me a cup of coffee in bed every morning. I am SO spoiled, you guys. It’s not my love language at all, but I’m learning to appreciate it because he’s seriously just the most generous and helpful guy ever.

So, that’s my heart! I’d love to hear how to win yours!

Also, if you missed my Noonday announcement yesterday, check it out HERE! I’d love you to join me on my journey to help create a better world through style! If you are interested in hosting a trunk show, be sure to let me know! The new line launches in just 16 days…and it is FABULOUS! All proceeds from my Noonday sales will benefit our family’s adoption.

Have a great day, friends!  

One thought on “Show & Tell Tuesday: How to Win Your Heart

  1. Oh my goodness, I don't want to be touched either! 🙂 Lol But I guess I've never really been a touch person. Also, I'm jealous that Blake fills up your gas tank for you. That's one of my least favorite chores… the handle is just so gross if they don't have paper towels to hold it with. 😀

    Like

Leave a comment