Do Something That Scares You

Okay, so this post is a little bit of a teaser…sorry, not sorry. 😉
For the last several months, a business opportunity has been heavy on my heart that is unlike any other that has ever come my way. Last night, I took a leap of faith after chatting with an amazing and inspirational woman, and I said yes. Things are still finalizing, so I’m not able to share the details with you (YET!), but I am hopeful to be able to share more details soon. It’s a risk, it’s a little bit scary, and there’s a chance I’ll fail. And that’s just downright hard to admit.
What I wanted to take a minute to share this morning was how God has been working on my vulnerability. Y’all, let’s face it, being real and honest and admitting that our life isn’t always perfect is HARD. Social media just takes this to a whole new level. Rather than seeing the real, authentic, nitty gritty that goes into each day, we bombard ourselves with somebody else’s highlight reel. And we do this over…and over…and over again. We scroll through staged, edited, filtered blips of someone’s day that comes with a witty caption to further the idea that his or her life is perfect.

I’ll admit – I’m guilty of this myself. I admitted in last week’s “Momfessionals” post that I often stage cute pictures of my kids. I do – it’s usually cute! And sometimes, getting a picture of my kids giving each other a hug is what gets me through a tough day. And that’s okay!

But, I wonder, how would the world be different if we were not so consumed by posting the picture perfect postcard life? How different would things look if we were all honest?

Honesty is scary.
Honesty opens you open to criticism.
Honesty is not popular, and, let’s be honest, you may lose followers for your authenticity.
But here’s my heart for you today. 
With openness and vulnerability comes connection. Honesty, sincerity, and admitting struggles does NOT make us weak. In fact, it does the opposite. Admitting we struggle, admitting we are scared, admitting that things are hard builds bridges among us. We are all in this crazy thing called life together, and we need to support, encourage, and rally around each other. No one, no matter how perfect they may seem from an Instagram feed, NO ONE has it all together. Perfectionism is a LIE…it does not exist. Leave that little devil in the dust, and let’s get REAL!

So here’s my challenge for you today – last night, I took a risk and said YES to something that scares me. I’m scared I might fail, I’m scared of the risk, and I’m scared to put myself out there. 

My hope is that if you are reading this, you will do just ONE THING that scares you today. If you’ve been holding back on taking a risk in your life, take it! If you fail? At least you’ll be able to look back and say you tried. No regrets. And if you fly…well, honey, then it was worth it. 

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” 
– 2 Timothy 1:7

Happy Friday, loves!  

Leave a comment